Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Address 7491 Trondheim
Platforms Biomarkers, Imaging & Tracing, Small Molecules

The Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) is a centre for science and technology education. With 14 faculties, 70 departments and 38,000 students, it is Norway’s largest University. More than 300 PhD-degrees are awarded yearly, within the fields of technology, science, arts and humanities, social sciences and medicine.

NTNU is Norway’s largest participant in Horizon 2020, with 38 H2020 projects so far. Participation in H2020 is a high priority for NTNU and the university has therefore, over many years, developed a professional administrative project support team to secure the smooth implementation of H2020 projects.

The Faculty of Medicine (DMF) was established 40 years ago and is a centre for both outstanding research and education. It is responsible for one of the world’s largest health studies (HUNT) and in 2014, DMF scientists May Britt and Edvard Moser were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. DMF has 1200 employees and consists of five departments along with nine specialist centres that were established through highly competitive national grants. Researchers at DMF benefit from state-of-the-art infrastructure comprising 13 core facilities run by dedicated and specially-trained staff. Together with St Olavs Hospital, DMF is responsible for Trondheim’s University Hospital, the most popular medical school in Norway. This close collaboration also ensures strong ties between basic research and patient-related research, which enables patients to benefit from research as quickly as possible.

Foto: Mentz Indergaard/NTNU Info